Horse racing in India

As a former British colony India has a long tradition in horse racing, the first racetrack is said to be constructed in Madras in 1777 already. Most racecourses of the country were built in colonial days and are still in good condition.
Horse races in India are run almost every day of the year and as the admission is quite cheap they are usually well attended.
The seven biggest racetracks of the country are in Bangalore, Delhi, Hyderabad, Calcutta, Mumbai, Mysore and Pune. The most important track is the Mahalaxmi Racecourse in Mumbai where the best races take place.

Five Group 1 races are run in India every year, all named after British examples. The five 'Indian Classics' include the Indian 1000 Guineas, the Indian 2000 Guineas, the Indian Derby, the Indian Oaks and the Indian St. Leger in Pune.
India's most prestigious race is the Indian Derby. It is run since 1943 and takes place on the first Sunday in February. Usually several of the best international jockeys come to Mumbai for this event.

Indian thoroughbreds are not particularly well-known for their international success, which is also up to India's strict quarantine regulations. In 2007 Mystical at least managed two victories at the Dubai Carnival. India's most famous horse still is the legendary colt Elusive Pimpernel, who won 22 of his 23 starts, including the 1995 Indian Derby.

live videoIndian horse racing on the Internet

All important information about horse racing in India can be found on the website

live video Live streams of all races can be watched for free via the websites of the racetracks:
Delhi, Mysore, Mumbai, Chennai // Bangalore, Calcutta, Hyderabad (with registration)

live videoBetting on Indian horse races

The only known bookmaker who offers online betting on Indian horse racing is RaceBets. The company accepts Indian customers and offers online-betting on many of the India horse races. Cash transfer is possible via credit card or e-wallet, deposits are converted to GBP.

deutsche version

Mehr Informationen
zu Racebets finden
man  » HIER

© 2012 - 2024 Copyright    Datenschutz    Impressum    begambleaware begambleaware